Starting April 25th, Epic’s Fortnite is getting a Marvel-themed makeover which sees the stars of the Avengers: Endgame movie invade the world of gaming. Players will be able to take on the powers of superheroes like Iron Man and Captain America in order to prevent the opposing team – led by the tyrannic Thanos – from gathering all of the Infinity Stones. This limited-time event is one of the biggest things to come to Fortnite in months, and we’ve put together this guide to help you get the most from it.

Fortnite’s Avengers: Endgame Event – What Is It?

Available for Fortnite on Android, iPhone, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch, PC, and iOS, this new mode takes inspiration from the Avengers: Endgame movie, which has just hit cinemas. In the film, the Avengers try to stop the evil Thanos from ruling the galaxy. Thanos isn’t a stranger to the world of Fortnite; he made a limited-time appearance last year when Avengers: Infinity War (the forerunner to Endgame) was showing in theatres.

RELATED: Brawl Stars Hits 100+ MILLION Downloads…

Fortnite: Endgame divides players into two teams, one of which uses the powers of the Avengers – such Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, and Hawkeye – while the other assumes the role of the Chitauri, Thanos’ army.

40 players are split into two armies, with 20 players on each side. The first Chitauri player to find an Infinity Stone will assume the role of Thanos. The aim is then to collect all of the remaining Infinity Stones to win the game.

In the normal Fortnite: Battle Royale, players die once killed. However, in Fortnite: Endgame, they can respawn. The team playing the role of the Avengers will respawn an unlimited number of times, but if Thanos collects all of the Infinity Stones, their respawns will be deactivated. The Chitauri team is limited to 100 respawns – about five respawns per player.

Fortnite Avengers: Endgame: Everything You Need To KnowPin

The Avengers players still behave like normal Fortnite characters and start with an assault rifle and shotgun. They can also build like normal, with resources automatically increasing over time. On the map, players will see the locations of the Avengers special weapons.

Speaking of which, the weapons are:

  • Iron Man’s repulsors: Players can fly shoot lasers
  • Hawkeye’s bow: Grappling arrows offer extra mobility, while explosive arrows are deadly
  • Captain America’s shield: This can block incoming damage and can be thrown at enemies
  • Thor’s Stormbreaker: This can be used to hit enemies, but can also be thrown as a projectile. You can also use it to perform a powerful smash attack

Fortnite: Endgame will finish when Thanos gathers all the Infinity Stones and wipes out the Avengers, or when the heroes kill Thanos and the Chitauri 100 times.

Fortnite’s Avengers: Endgame Event – Playing As Thanos

Fortnite Avengers: Endgame: Everything You Need To KnowPin

The first Chitauri player to find an Infinity Stone will assume the role of Thanos. The aim is then to collect all of the remaining Infinity Stones to win the game.

Thanos can punch and fire a beam attack, and also has an extra-high jump that can be used to smash down to earth and cause damage to nearby players. Standard Chitauri soldiers have a laser rifle, a grenade, and a jetpack.

If the player controlling Thanos is killed, another player on the Chitauri team will automatically transform into a fresh Thanos.

Whenever the Thanos player adds a stone to the Infinity Gauntlet, new abilities are gained and the Chitauri’s health increases.

  • Reality Stone (Red): Doubles Thanos’ health and shields (from 1,000 to 2,000)
  • Soul Stone (Orange): Thanos recovers shield power after each kill
  • Mind Stone (Yellow): Doubles Thanos’ jump height
  • Space Stone (Blue): Ground smash power increases by 600% and its area of effect increases by 300%
  • Time Stone (Green): Each hit power increases by 300%
  • Power Stone (Purple): Thanos’ laser damage increases by 600%

Fortnite’s Avengers: Endgame Event – What Else Does It Add?

So far, all that has been added to the game is the Black Widow outfit set, which includes the Widow’s Pack, the Widow’s Bite Pickaxe, and Widow’s Pirouette Emote. It costs 1,500 V-bucks in the in-game store. We’ve been told that a second outfit will be coming soon.

Fortnite’s Avengers: Endgame Event – How To Get It

Fortnite is entirely free to play, so if you own any of the supported devices you can download and enjoy this Avengers event without spending a penny.