How To Delete Skype (PROPERLY): In A Few Easy Steps

By Richard Goodwin •  Updated: 07/03/18 •  2 min read

In true Microsoft fashion, one does not simply cancel their Skype account.

No, no, no… there are far-reaching implications if you do, as Skype is closely integrated with ALL other Microsoft services.

So you cannot just delete it; this would affect everything else.

For this reason, you have to follow a certain procedure, which looks a little something like this:

STEP 1

STEP 2

Once you’ve backed everything up, the next steps are as follows:

STEP 3

Once you’ve done this, Microsoft will hold your account active for 60 days before deleting – just in case you change your mind.

Once the 60 days is up, Microsoft will hit the kill switch and your Skype account will be dead and gone.

And once this happens, all data associated with it will also be gone.

Hence why it’s important to back everything up in the first place.

  • Save

Richard Goodwin

Richard Goodwin has been working as a tech journalist for over 10 years. He is the editor and owner of KnowYourMobile.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap