How To Restore iPhone From iTunes Backup (#1 Easiest Method)

By Michael Grothaus •  Updated: 04/29/20 •  5 min read

If the poop hits the fan and you need to restore your iPhone, the easiest way to do this is via iTunes. In this guide, we’ll show you how to restore an iPhone via iTunes…


If your iPhone is acting up, or if you’re getting ready to sell it, you’ll want to restore the device. But restoring your iPhone can mess up the device if you don’t do things properly.

In this guide, we explore what an iPhone restore is, in what instances you might want to do a restore, and the steps to follow when you do so.

You will need to back-up your iPhone first, and the best way to do that is via iCloud or iTunes. Both options will be covered in detail below, so read on for more information on how to backup and restore your iPhone…

What Restoring Your iPhone Does

Restoring your iPhone is the “nuclear” version of formatting your device back to factory settings. A restore will wipe everything from your iPhone–settings, apps, the OS, and even the firmware itself.

If you want the iPhone to be as close to the way it was when you first opened it from the box you want to restore it.

All of these methods work on iPad too. Another handy tip, especially if you’ve ever thought the following:

Is to make sure you have Find My iPhone installed and setup.

Why You May Want To Restore Your iPhone

You want to restore your iPhone if you are selling or giving it away or you are having massive problems with it. You should ALWAYS do a restore if you are selling your iPhone.

Restoring your iPhone will obliterate everything on the device, erasing not only all your data but the existing OS and firmware from the device.

After a restore, the latest clean version of iOS will be installed.

How to Restore Your iPhone From iTunes

Restoring your iPhone can be dangerous because if you do it wrong you can seriously mess up your device. By that, we don’t mean brick your device (doing that is very rare). We mean many times people restore their iPhone without doing a backup first. Then when they go to reload all their data on it they find they don’t have any of that data saved.

Another issue arises when people restore their iPhone without disassociating their Apple/iCloud ID from it first and then sell their device. If you don’t disassociate your Apple/iCloud ID first, that iPhone will forever be locked to your Apple/iCloud ID, which means a future owner won’t have full access over it.

Back-Up Your iPhone First!

Now, Restore Your iPhone


More iPhone Stuff: 

  • Save

Michael Grothaus

Apple expert and novelist, Michael Grothaus has been covering tech on KnowYourMobile for the best part of 10 years. Prior to this, he worked at Apple. And before that, he was a film journalist. Michael is a published author; his book Epiphany Jones was voted as one of the best novels about Hollywood by Entertainment Weekly. Michael is also a writer at other publications including VICE and Fast Company.
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap