How To Factory Reset An iPhone

User guides James Peckham 17:33, 13 Jun 2014

This guide will show you how to wipe the data on your iPhone and restore its factory settings

Do you need to factory reset your iPhone? Whether it be an iPhone 3GS or an iPhone 5S it’s pretty much the same process and you’ve come to the right place.

There are many reasons why you may want to reset your iPhone, you may be giving it away to a friend, selling it on or just feeling like a fresh start, it’s a simple enough process. The factory reset will delete all your data on the phone from messages to all your photos, so be warned to back up all the data you want to save.

You can do this by heading into iTunes and taking it off your iPhone manually. Got all you need off the device? Now it’s time to wipe that iPhone.

Head Into Settings

The first step is to make your way into the Settings app, it’s the one that looks like a cog with a grey background. Within there you want to go on the General menu option which will take you onto step two.

Tap Reset

The second step is even simpler than the first, you’ll need to press on the Reset category which will bring up a load more options than just Factory Reset.

Factory Reset Time

From there you want to press on Erase All Content And Settings. The iPhone will give you one or two warnings before you continue any further making sure you want to destroy all the data on the phone. It’ll then enter into the deletion process which could take quite a while to complete depending on how much you had on the phone. It averages at around 15 minutes so just sit back and wait.

You Should Be Done

When it’s all finished the iPhone will then reboot itself and act as if it was the first time you’ve turned it on. You’ll be greeted by the menu to help you set it up with your details, time and date. Congratulations, you’ve now reset your iPhone. Now you can do with it what you wish without worry of losing any personal data.

Sponsored Links